Phases of Writing

lead_large
Image source: http://www.dianaminot.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Tyepwriter-crumpled-paper.jpg

Prologue:

More than I have written complete articles, I have amassed elaborate introductions stating how blank my mind actually is or how overwhelmed it is with the lack of clarity in thoughts. At times, these successfully lead to segregation of the same and I am able to continue writing. I eventually end up editing the introduction to complete the piece. Lately, I have begun to leave articles with the same introduction, or write pieces only with the introduction, meaning, the whole document is about my blank mind.

A detailed description of how I write articles:

*clears throat before typing…*

Phase #1

The blank screen.

No, no! This is no clever metaphor. This is plain reality. I’m sitting here, facing a blank document. I have a cluster of thoughts and I’m unable to segregate them to be able to write something worth anybody’s while. This is ridiculous. Ridiculous. What can I write about!? Oh God, this is so bad. Very bad. This is absolutely ridiculous. This. Sucks. Random thought. When I go to type faster, I end up using the backspace more often than the actual keys. It makes me sad. I mean, I do have ten fingers at my disposal but no, I don’t use them all, do I? Fine! Backspace it is, then! This is so bad; so sad; it sucks.

Phase #2:

Attempt at sophistication.

Recently I have come to expect very articulate pieces from myself. Probably because of all the examinations I have had to give, which for the time being strengthened my vocabulary. The important part in the previous sentence isn’t my expectation from my myself but rather the “for the time being” part. Transient, ephemeral, temporary amelioration of my vocabulary gave me a sense of achievement, a sense of having attained a particular standard in my writing. Obviously, incomparable to my writing heroes but nevertheless, I knew I was sprouting articles and essays, work of a sort of improved quality. And then, reality hit me when that trend faded, and I was brutally made to realize that it was momentary. My affair with the lexicon has officially come to an end, but I’m hoping it isn’t a bitter one as I’d like to continue on a friendly note with it.

Phase #3:

Addressing the topic – Phase.

(continuing the attempt at sophisticated writing – the voice in my head sounds British)

Having whined in the preceding paragraphs, I suppose, it is time to address the topic at hand. When one comes across a word like “Phase”, the concept of lunar phases could easily be what jumps into one’s mind. Obviously, the promoting image of the Moon in the daily prompt post adds to the imagery. But, as a pharmacist, when one mentions phases, it is the tedious and much necessary process of “clinical trials and its phases” that engulfs me. What are clinical trials? Importance?

The World War II saw many experiments being conducted on prisoners, primarily without their consent. These were brutal experiments involving mutilation and breeding to understand genetics, etc. With the spread of awareness, today there are ethical committees which have implemented several rules and regulations to protect the rights of volunteers and patients participating in such scientific experiments.

A component of experimenting is to understand the behavior of new drugs in the market. These are tested and validated on the basis of their performance in healthy volunteers and patients, in what are called, Phases of Clinical Trials. Animal trials are pre-clinical; those conducted in humans are clinical. Spanning over Phase 0 (Human Microdosing phase – to understand the pharmacokinetics, how the drug reaches the site of action), Phase I (in healthy volunteers to understand the therapeutic index, that is the lowest amount of drug to be administered to yield an effect and the highest amount to cause toxicity), Phase II (in a small number of patients to check the pharmacological action), Phase III (a larger population of patients), Phase IV (post-marketing surveillance – to assess the drugs in the masses for a period of time to record any gradual inconsistencies or complaints) and Phase V (transitional studies – a purely retrospective study to look for any room for improvement and further research)

(The above was a summary of clinical trials. If I am wrong, pardon me, I’m on a well-deserved holiday. I am allowed to forget answers after exams.)

Phase #4:

I wrote SOMETHING!!! The smug happiness (temporary) and the imminent depression.

To conclude, one might find it interesting to understand the various procedures related to the entire drug development process….

*sends article to magazine (just 1) – (or posts on the blog)*

*dreams of book signings (or likes comments shares and follows)*

*waits for a week and doesn’t write anything else*

*no response*

*calls friends and cries that I’m a terrible writer*

“Keep at it! You wrote this one so well!” they say. “Write something else!” they say.

Enter Phase #1

The blank screen.

P. S. If I bored you with technicality, please forgive me. When I focus on economics in the future, you might want to kill yourself. So, coffee, brew, please! 🙂

Phase

7 thoughts on “Phases of Writing

  1. I always enjoy the meanderings of other writer’s minds. I would think you could break the above into two concepts: the struggle of facing the blank page and the more direct concept of outlining phases of clinical trials. The struggle is to combine such a serious latter topic with the lighthearted, if emotionally tinged, former mental exercise in the futility of creating a fresh blog post. It can be done, but, admittedly it is difficult.

    I did like where “the voice in (your) head sounds British” that was fun. Personal touches like that flavor a piece as original thought. Perhaps you don’t need to try so hard to ‘capture’ the exact meaning of a word prompt like ‘Phase’. Let the word carry you where it will and then let that be your message.

    Best of luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your advice! Deeply appreciated! I agree, the combination was unnecessary and perhaps led to the trivialization of the latter half, the trials. Hopefully I’ll start taking the daily prompt as just that! A ‘prompt’! Thank you so much! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. God your articles just pull me into your world! You nailed this one, I totally relate with it! And the part about great expectations after you finish writing…great humour:p although I am very sure someday you shall make it large 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

